Starting traditions

Holidays are known for doing things that you grew up doing or making up your own things to do if you didn’t like or didn’t do anything for those holidays. As Easter came and went I thought to myself what traditions do I want to start with my kids? What holidays do we recognize and celebrate and what do they mean to us as Christians? Americans? This question is something I need to think about as we are preparing to leave for another country that has their own unique holidays and traditions.
I made a calendar this year and I put what I considered important dates to remember, like birthdays and holidays. Earth day was yesterday and even though I knew it was on the calendar that manufactures make I didn’t really do anything to “celebrate”. I tend to “honor” certain holidays by doing an art project with the kids, putting up decorations that “represent” that specific season.
I pose this thought though what is the significance of celebrating holidays? Go to target, walmart, or michaels and you can pretty much celebrate any holiday except maybe 420 ;0 (that requires traveling to legal states). But seriously what holidays are important lessons that I can teach my kids about my heritage or my Christian faith?
Mothers day is coming up and my husband does a great job at honoring me and trying to have the kids participate a little bit by picking out the card. I am usually asked for ideas for gifts but usually he does a better job than I could ever suggest. To be honest I am not much of a gift giver like my husband is. I am more about the memory, picture taken, card or family time spent. My love language is quality time that is fun and tantrum/argue free.
So no matter what holidays you do celebrate, I hope that you are making memories that are positive and will reflect well on throughout the generations that follow.
I will leave you with one memory of my childhood regarding the Easter tradition. My Grandma Dee was around us usually during major holidays and she would generally give some kind of cute little gift an egg with money in it (that was when we were older). I remember mostly that it was a time that we would always go to church to celebrate Jesus’ death and resurrection, dress up more than normal and always, always have to take a family photo. And although I didn’t like posing for pictures at the time, I will proudly carry on two of those traditions, celebrating Jesus and taking pictures of family.

Leave a Reply

