Rejoice and be Thankful always

Today I read from the devotional Jesus Calling, something my late grandmother encouraged everyone she knew to pick up a copy and if they didn’t she would give them one of hers. Someone said around the time of her funeral that she mentioned buying a copy everytime she saw one in the store.
In light of all that is going on in our world near and far it is hard to be thankful. We get caught up in injustice and fear, pain and heartache. This devotional is a good reminder of what we have to be thankful for.
This is the quoted passage for November 26; “This is the day that I have made! As you rejoice in this day of life, it will yeild up to you precious gifts and beneficial training. Walk with Me along the high road of thanksgiving, and you will find all the delights I have made ready for you.
To protect your thankfulness, you must remember that you reside in a fallen world, where blessings and sorrows intermingle freely. A constant focus on adversity defeats many Christians. (I would also add any human to this)
They walk through a day this is brimming with beauty and brightness, seeing only the grayness of their thoughts. Neglecting the practice of giving thanks has darkened their minds. How precious are My children who remember to thank Me at all times. They can walk through the darkest days with Joy in their hearts because they know that the Light of My Presence is still shining on them. Rejoice in this day that I have made, for I am your steadfast Companion.”
Also read Psalm 116:17, Psalm 118:24
I am thankful that God shows me grace every day. I am trying to show grace to everyone regardless of if I disagree with views or behaviors. I am human and need God’s grace to show forgiveness and love to others even if I am not receiving the same from them. I am thankful for my family, my parents that raised me in the Lord. My father who sacrificed time with his family to serve the public and risk his life day in and day out. I am thankful for a mother who taught me right from wrong and how to respect those in authority no matter if I agreed with them, I was to show respect. I am thankful that I am free to proclaim that I believe in Jesus and that He died for my sins. Sins that I unfortunately commit everyday, I am thankful that I have hope and a future. I am thankful that I serve the one true God and he is providing the way to care for the lives of those who need to see Grace played out before them. I am thankful that I can teach these kids that they can make good choices, that they can change their lives and can make a better nation. I am thankful for so many things, but most of all I am thankful that one day I will be able to leave this world behind and rejoice with my King in Heaven.
I pray that you too can find that peace and thanksgiving today. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

