Skeptical

The other day in small group we were discussing the scripture that says that we should hold off on making judgement. Easier said than done for sure, I usually can justify in my head that as long is I don’t act on the thought then no harm, right? Wrong, I am continuously trying to make better choices this year, and it all starts with my mind. My heart is in the right place usually and I have good intentions, however execution is not always perfect.

I made a purposeful choice to do two new things this year. Read the Bible in a year and to join a Bible study. I am reading the Bible through an application on my phone that makes it easy for me by giving me guidance on what scripture to read and it daily takes me on quite the journey. I got behind and was scared that I was just going to be too far behind to stay committed. However, I buckled down and was able to catch up and am happy to report each morning has been truly blessed. Last night, I started a Beth Moore study with a group of women from all different walks of life. I am excited to open myself up to new relationships and learn more about 1&2 Thessalonians. The bonus, a night of independence from the responsibility of motherhood.

I could have started this year skeptical that I could finish what I started. However, I am really trying to stay focused, positive and diligent in all I set out to do. On the real side this diet that my husband has me experiencing is most likely not going to take the cravings of french fries away that I so desperately desire this very moment.

A word of encouragement, whatever you are striving to do, remember that you are most likely your own worst skeptic. As hard and vulnerable it may be, try and get a person to hold you accountable and stick to it. My prayer is that you are enriched and that you can then enrich someone else’s life this year and the years to come.

Leave a Reply

