70 times 7

I was reading my daily scriptures and was hit by this one in particular at that moment when my kids were acting crazy in the background. Matthew 18:21-22 “Then Peter came to him and asked, ‘Lord, how often should I forgive someone who sins against me? Seven times?’ ‘No!’ Jesus replied, ‘seventy times seven!'”

The thought crossed my mind, have my kids met that quota yet? How many times have I had to forgive them for doing the same thing over and over. I quickly was reminded that I surely had met the quota myself with God. He is such a forgiving God and I feel that if he can forgive me, then surely I can continue to forgive others.

I have been reading some old testament scripture and was drawn into the story and history of Joseph and before him his father Jacob. Such an interesting set of events that lead to the favor that Joseph had over him. The way it ties into what I mentioned before is that Joseph forgave his brothers and more than that he made sure they were taken care of and ended up being better off than when they started.

I feel like as much as it is frustrating to continue to forgive my kids, it allows me the opportunity to teach them and to correct them, but more importantly it shows them how God forgives us. It reminds me to humble myself and remember how amazing God’s grace is to me (and everyone else). Like Joseph’s brothers it also seems that over time we are better for it than when we first started. So keep forgiving!

Leave a Reply

