Full tank

A few months back I signed up online to enjoy a day trip to Fort Portal to relax with other missionary women. When I filled the questionnaire out I thought that it was just another one of those things you just fill out, but no one really looks at. They asked what I would want if I could have one gift for up to $100, I thought well I don’t actually need anything.  I would like a lot of little things like makeup and food items, but I had never really been able to look at things that cost that much; let alone one thing. I admit I googled items that cost under $100 for women. I picked a Kindle white book… fast forward a few weeks later and we were robbed my list suddenly was larger than one item. But another thing that I didn’t expect was that when they asked me to share about myself and what I needed prayer for…they would actually hear me and mean what they said. I emailed my “prayer partner” and told her what happened and she prayed for me.

I got to meet her this week and it was evident more than ever that not only was she praying for me, but so were hundreds of other people…people that I had never met; people I most likely will never meet.

The drive to Fort Portal started with me taking a boda to meet a woman who I had never met who would be driving me and another person to Fort Portal.  I ended up riding with an amazing Australian lady who is passionate about conservation, people and God. I also rode with an equally amazing Brazilian woman who has two sons that I actually know from teaching at Acacia. We talked for the 5-hour car ride about some of our amazing adventures in Uganda and other nations we have served. After a very bumpy ride with no lunch and using the side of the rode as our commode we arrived at our retreat. We were greeted by smiling faces of women wearing matching shirts and handing us a new shirt, telling us we could sign up for two of the three services a massage, pedicure or haircut. We were then gifted with an envelope that was later to be explained that would be worth $100 to shop at the gift shop. (I thought oh great some African knickknacks) I was wrong there was makeup, jewelry, clothes, housewares goods, food, lotions…Then I met my prayer warrior, she gave me a hug and asked me how things were going at home. She then gave me a bag full of goodies and I mean full included was the Kindle that I asked for. Now if I stopped there one would say wow how amazing is that! Right.

But God is so good it wasn’t about the stuff. We got to have time to talk and share about ourselves and people listened and people prayed. We laughed together, prayed together, worshiped together and cried together. I met other missionaries with incredible stories of their ministries and what God is doing and their heartaches. I was able to lift of the name of Jesus Christ in worship with other women who understand what it means to be a wife, mom, missionary and woman in a land away from home. I was paired with a lovely lady I had never met, but when we met; we clicked.  We started laughing together from the start (we also had an early mishap with our glass door shattering all over the floor, and me not being able to figure out how to open the other door to get out). We sat together at the dinner table where the vets would have the stories and the visitors who were blessing us would ask us questions. It was nice to have inside jokes that only people living in Uganda would know (funny thing is we were from all over Uganda, but we all had similar experiences with the people, food and muzungu mentality).

The next morning, I got sick, it might have been something I ate or the big bug bite I got on my butt the night before; but I was not well. I had so many women praying for me, serving me, nursing me back to health. We were blessed with day two of gifts, services, food, fellowship, worship and prayer. We had a great morning together before it was time to say farewell to the other missionary women from around Uganda.  The women that I rode with were staying an extra night in a hostel that was also hosting the team of ladies that had been blessing us. This is where I want to share about some amazing people, organizations and accommodations that we encountered this week.  The host was “Go Be Love” and they were awesome this is the first year that they did this “Be loved” retreat and their plan is to be full time missionaries starting next year and they will be doing more events like this one in the future. We stayed at an amazing place in Fort Portal called “Kluges Farm” and it has amazing wonderful accommodations, buffet style food, pool (it was rainy so we didn’t get to use it, but it looked nice) and the staff was so amazing! Mercy for Mamas was our sponsor organization and they brought women from the U.S. to serve more than just us. They are a wonderful organization that work with expectant mothers and mothers by giving them medical help, information on prenatal services, “momma kits” and much more. These amazing women had so many skill sets and they have been serving Uganda for years. Check them out at http://www.mercyformamas.com Melissa Busby is an amazing woman! The hostel we stayed at for one night was also run by an amazing woman who could be my grandmother and kind of reminds me of her. She has been in Uganda for over 20 years at Y.E.S. Uganda where she serves HIV/Aids orphaned children and youth check out her ministry here at http://yesugandahostel.weebly.com/about-yes-uganda.html

Basically it was amazing, highly recommended especially for those of us that don’t get to visit home very often, it was a touch of home with the benefit of everyone understanding how exhausted you are, not expecting anything from you and loving on you the whole time! (oh and 5 hours wasn’t much in comparison to the 2 days it takes to get “home”) A big thank you for everyone that made it happen and for all the people who helped by donating the goodies that we received from the oils, popcorn, clothes, books and much more that were donated I am so blessed and thankful.

One thought on “Full tank

  1. I’m so glad that it was such a wonderful time!! Please send me a message from what’s app, I have a new phone and no contacts anymore. Let be you!!

Leave a Reply

